Pilot Post

Well, I am currently writing out of my almost-dead laptop on my hotel bed, freshly woken up on my first morning in Baltimore. I have about 46 hours until I first set out on my bike with every other team involved in 4k for Cancer – a total of about 130 riders starting from Baltimore’s Inner Harbor. I am both excited and nervous, but I know this summer will be one to remember.

Packing for this trip was quite the experience. We are limited to one duffel bag and one backpack for the summer, which means being a minimalist will be heavily favored. My sleeping bag and sleeping pad alone just about fill up the duffel bag, which makes packing everything else rather difficult. Hopefully I get into a rhythm packing everything in, or else I’ll just accept the carpal tunnel I’ll get from zipping up my bag every day. Anyway, I continually remind myself it’s not about the things I take, but the experiences I will have and the lives we all hope to change.

This is my first blog post, so my activity may be a bit irregular until I get accustomed to this whole setup. However, I will be sure to keep you all updated on what I am doing, and will be continually posting pictures of the U.S. as I make my way across it! I will also have a GoPro, so a video of my trek will also be underway. That is, if I ever learn how to work it (should probably figure that out pretty soon here). Make sure to communicate with me if you have any questions, and let me know if I can dedicate part of my ride to anyone dear to you that is dealing with or has passed away because of cancer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

